Adventures in (gulp) Fiction

  

  
Those of you who know me are aware that I don’t like asking my students to do anything that I am not willing to do. So this time around, when I asked my students to write a piece of fiction that is driven by theme and not by plot, I felt the obligation to take the plunge with them. 

I have to confess that it’s rather scary​. I like writing poetry, and personal narrative comes pretty naturally to me. Find me a soapbox issue and I am all over it! 

But fiction? I will hide in a corner. 

Still, I have decided that it is time to be brave. I completed my character analysis sheet, just like they did. I put my story board together, just like they are doing. I suppose it’s all over now but the writing. 

Time to roll up my sleeves, dig in, and step up to the challenge. Above is a picture of the storyboard I drew. Yes, the art is stinky, but that’s because no one but me needs to understand the pictures. That, and I enjoy drawing people as much as I do writing fiction. 

Check back for my progress on drafting the story.  Wish me luck!

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Adventures in (gulp) Fiction”

  1. Terry Mull Says:

    So proud of you and the way you continue to challenge yourself! How lucky your students are to have you as a life coach!

  2. Story Crafting: Part 1 | Reflections, Rants and Raves Says:

    […] so now that my students – eyeball deep in story writing – have begun to bug me about writing my own story, I suppose I need to get started with the drafting. Been feeling guilty about not getting on this […]

Leave a Reply

