Haiku #2: The Leap

Worked with another set of students on composing poetry, so…you know…I felt compelled to write again.

This one? Well, I have a feeling I’m not done with the metaphor. I think there is more for me to explore.

But.

Have you ever had an odd feeling of excitement/anxiety that you can’t quite pinpoint the source of? Yep. That was my mood when I wrote this. Taking a breath, being brave. Here we go:

Today, I’m hopeful.
A flutter in the belly
Says, “Expect good things.”

I wonder sometimes…
What if I COULD do all I
Am capable of?

Fear and excitement:
Two sides of the same coin (or
So the story goes)

So then: which is it?
Toes curled over the high dive,
Looking down and down,

Or perhaps the joy,
Resounding splash and relief
Having made the leap?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

