A Month of Reflection: Day 22 – Dare

Thinking back to the rounds of Truth or Dare I played as a kid, dares really meant something. Certainly, pride was on the line. You don’t have to go that route, but once a dare is out there, you’ve got to do it.

But I’m an adult now. And yes, I do believe I am a bit past playing Truth or Dare.

So…now?

What do I dare to do?

A dare is ambitious. A little scary. Out of my comfort zone. Something unexpected or out of character. Something there may be consequences for.

For me, what would that be?

Without a doubt…

Speaking my mind.

It seems a little thing. But it’s a big little thing.

In so many ways, I just wish I could be braver. I just wish I could speak more plainly to people and reveal more of the truth of what’s in my thoughts. I just haven’t figured out how to do that without seeming judgmental, preachy, hypocritical or mean.

At the root, I know, is fear. Fear of being disliked, fear of angering others. Yet I know that I can be both disliked and loved at the same time. My brain knows exactly what’s going on.

Hearts, on the other hand, are much more stubborn.

And you? What do you dare?

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “A Month of Reflection: Day 22 – Dare”

  1. renée a. schuls-jacobson Says:

    Hi Lainie. I sooooooo get this. It’s hard to be brave sometimes. If only the things we were being dared to do were silly things. To me, it seems like the ante has been upped about a bazillion times. I want to go back to massage school, but I keep stopping myself from applying. Why? Fear. What am I afraid of? I don’t know. That I’m not smart enough. That I’ll make it all the way through but I won’t ever build a clientele or even use the skills I learn. I’m afraid of wasting a lot of money. And I’, afraid I won’t be able to balance all the obligations. This last one is rather silly. I know my husband would gladly pick up the slack, and my son is 15 years old. He barely needs the kind of intense mommying I used to provide. Soooo…. (((deep breath))) what am I waiting for? Waiting for that brave to kick in. Thank you for giving me something to think about.

    • Lainie Levin Says:

      You’re welcome. And oh, the burden of obligation. I do often wonder who it’s all for sometimes, and where I fit in to all of that.

      I guess I’ll be looking forward to that post where you drop the other shoe and start up with that application!

Leave a Reply

