Overindulgence (Feeding Frenzy Part 2)

My eyes are bigger than my stomach.

What can I say? Libraries are like an all-you-can-eat buffet. And as much as I tell myself I’m biting off more than I can chew, it’s too tempting to glide down the aisles and drop book after book after book in my tote.

“I may not be hungry for this one quite just yet, but if I don’t check it out now, I’ll forget it looked interesting in the first place.”

“Look! there’s a book by the author the kids have been suggesting.”

“Hey…I heard of that one. Maybe I’ll see what the fuss is about.”

I clearly have more titles to read than I have time to read them. I know, because I have six separate titles I’m working on: two in different backpacks, one on the kitchen counter, one on my dresser, and one on my nightstand. That doesn’t count my own three books inside my nightstand, patiently waiting for me to dig in again.

To me it’s sort of like a dare. How many hot dogs can you eat in a sitting? How many books can you check out and read in your given allotted time? Yes, I know I can renew, but where’s the fun in that?

No, there’s no choice but to pull up to the table and have at it. Bon apetit!

One Response to “Overindulgence (Feeding Frenzy Part 2)”

  1. Pat Says:

    My reading habits are EXACTLY the same… books (and journals) all over the place with bookmarks in various places that I’ll pick up where I left off depending on which tasty morsel on the buffet looks good at that particular moment. Oh, and they are all from a library! Here’s a tip… you don’t have to read the whole thing. Some are satisfying for me just reading some of it, a little taste goes a long way. Others I MUST read it all. Yum, yum. That’s why you take more home than you can ever possibly get through. You just don’t know which luscious item on the buffet is something you’ll enjoy. One more thing… it’s a GOOD idea to check out more than you’ll finish. Librarians watch stats on how many books circulate. Public libraries especially so think of it as helping them out. 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

